I'M trying to learn to program and I'M also new to the Linux OS. I've just started with Ubuntu. Anyway, I was reading a long list of post from Linux users posting on Mono. I'M trying to figure out where all the negative feedback concerning Mono is coming from. Why are so many Linux people against it?

Is it just because C# was created by Microsoft? I mean hey, if it works it works and lets use it. I noticed a lot of the complaints where that Microsoft has a patent on it or something like that. So what exactly does that mean anyway, what relevance does that have and how will it affect us? It works and it's free so I just want to know, what's the big deal? Is this the typical Linux and Mac attitude to act superior to everything Windows? Or is there some real substance behind these allegations? Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Your question explains the situation far better than any answer could. No matter what proof is provided, the opposition (on either side) will dismiss, ignore.

Mono is a great tool. If you're learning to code and want your programs to run on Linux, Apple, and Windows, I'd say go for it.

But don't box yourself in. There are a lot of great languages out there. Java is good, and let's face it good old "C" still dominates.

From what I've seen there are two main camps who are opposed to Mono. There are the Microsoft haters, many of whom simply dislike Mono because it implements C# and emulates the .NET runtime, which are both 'evil' Microsoft technologies. Others see the Mono runtime as an unnecessary, unwelcome and bloated addition to their system. There are other arguments used by various other groups who are anti-Mono, but those are probably the top two from the Microsoft haters!