hi everyone i'm new to unix/linux . almost know nothing about it , but i wants to learn about it . so how can i get it on my pc . now i use windows xp

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I know there are some distributions that allow to you to run Linux as an application in Windows. In other words, you can try out the OS and it's features without having to install it. If you decide you like it, then you can install it in place of Windows or possibly try a dual boot solution so you can have both OS's. Check out this site to start:

http://www.lifehack.org/articles/technology/beginners-guide-run-linux-like-any-other-program-in-windows.html

There are tons of sites out there about Linux and the different distros that are available. If your system meets the minimum requirements for Windows XP, then there will be no problem installing Linux if you decide to.

commented: thanks a lot i will try it +1

i guess you can

------------------------

La Jolla homes , Carlsbad homes , Carmel valley real estate

thanks a lot for your attention

hi everyone i'm new to unix/linux . almost know nothing about it , but i wants to learn about it . so how can i get it on my pc . now i use windows xp

I strongly recommend checking out Distro Watch. It has links to all of the popular Linux distributions, and many of the lesser known ones.

Most distros come in Live CD/DVD format now, so you can check it out, without the need to install anything, by booting off the optical drive. If your computer supports booting from a USB key, some distros can also boot that way. This is what I did, till I found one that would support my hardware (this probably won't be an issue today, four years ago things were different). FYI, I've been Windows free for four years now.