Why do you say 8.0 sucks?

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

heres the file you need for mp3 support under redhat 8

http://havardk.xmms.org/dist/xmms-1.2.7-rh8-rh9-rpm/

being a newbie myself it was easy to get it installed, apparently as the page says, there were legal concerns so mp3 support was left out,

you install this way

rpm -ivh xmms-mpg123-1.2.7-21.i386.rpm

I agree, RedHat 8 sux :D

RedHat stepped up from version 7.3 to version 8 - and all that they did was turn Linux into bloatware. Well, not exactly, but they might as well have. Here's my rant ...

This new version is aimed at getting Linux into the personal workstation market. They added a whole collection of office/productivity apps, redefined the entire GUI - and, in my opinion, cluttered it up to improve its "prettyness". It also seems a lot slower and a bit more buggy than version 7.x.

This is okay though, and do you know why? Because when RedHat first stepped up from 6.2 to 7.0, version 7 sucked horrendously! It was completely unreliable, buggy, and bloated. Version 7.1 fixed most of the bugs, and versions 7.2 and 7.3 were two of the best linux distributions I've ever used.

Now we're stepping up once again from 7.3 to 8.

Version 8 is RedHat's first try aimed at the general pc power user. Sure it may be buggy, but the cool new task-oriented GUI and RPM package management upgrades (e.g. while installing/upgrading the distribution) make it very easy for a newbie to get started and do some simple customizations right off the bat. What it comes down to is that they're on the right track to get Linux into the mainstream market.

Right now version 8 is disliked by many linux power users because they all feel that RedHat sacrificed power and stability to make pretty RAM-hogging graphics and make it newbie-friendly. My opinion - wait until 8.1 comes out before you pre-judge. RedHat did a nice overhaul here and it'll take at least one minor step upgrade before bugs are worked out of it.