Hello, I suspect that this is an elementary question but maybe I don’t understand how to search for it. I am a programmer, but having a small company and we can’t afford yet a system administrator, so I play this role as well with my limited practice on it.

Currently we use CentOS 5.10 but I suspect the answer should also apply in other versions or distributions. We use a really small PHP core framework , less than 100kb , and we run many applications and sites using that and few of them with really heavy traffic. The question is how to load that folder to memory and not to read those files every time?. Also I understand that when we change those files we should execute a command to get the new contents to memory.

I tend to believe that this is has to do with the system and not the web server, so I suspect that wouldn’t mind when the web server restarts, I am right on that or should I do something more?

Thank you for your time, I understand that this must be something very basic but I have to play this role of system administrator until we have the money to hire one, of course I am not, I am a programmer.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

The operating system should automatically cache those files in memory when read. IE, you should not have to deal with this! The caveat is whether or not you have sufficient RAM to cache these files. 100K is not much these days.

FWIW, upgrading from CentOS 5.x to 6.x will provide MAJOR performance improvements, especially in file caching.