I'm having trouble running RH9 on VMWare. My host is Windows XP pro. I can install RH9, but I can't get it to run X window. VMWare doesn't give much help. I'm a newbie, and I'd appreciate it if someone could give me a fairly detailed, easy walkthrough on how to do this.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

What happens when you type "startx" in the terminal. Does the X server fail?

If you just can't run X but you can run console, it's most likely related to your XFree86 setup as opposed to a VMWare problem.

Check vmware.com to see the specs for the video card that is emulated.

Any luck getting it working?

yup, its up and running. Now I just have to find a way to get internet running. i tried using bridged networking, and pretty much all the other options, but for some reason, it can't use my ethernet card

What problem with your nic card is there? I was having a problem with VMWare 3 and my network card because it's actually a linksys gigabit but vmware emulates it as a regular 10mbit connection only. VMWare 4 fixed the problem.

In addition, an old problem I used to have was I used bridged networking with a Linux host and Win2K vm, with no problems. However, when I put WinMe in a virtual machine, same host, same networking setup, it would work for the first two minutes, and then I'd lose internet access permanently until I restarted the virtual machine.

Lol glad to hear it works for ya! I thought RH9 wouldent work so I installed Mandrake 8 instead. Dont really know whats the diff though since both run the same desktop shelll? I'll go try to look for answers now and come back with the results!