since ati has the linux drivers for my video card(ati radeon 9200), does that mean it can run all the eye candy and stuff?
thanks for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 26 Replies

Yup.

it doesnt work for my x600 :(

Perhaps you misconfigured your drivers? It seems like ATI's got full support for it on their driver page.

I'm no ATI expert, but isn't x600 a simple card, without a serious accelerator?

it plays farcry just fine

whatever farcry is ;) I'm not a gamer mate :)
what we use here is NVIDIA Quadro 1500 mostly, because they are much better than anything ATI-made for our kind of graphics - high volume 3D COP processing

That rocks, thanks guys.
Who needs vista when you have XGL?
linux rocks

farcry is (although FEAR is now becoming more popular) a game used for real life (gaming) benchmarks

card has no probs with games / cad on medium settings so wtf wont it run XGL or Aero!

bash/ksh/csh man, everything else is eye-candy :)))

i've had so many porblems with my ati card, i love nvidia.

bash/ksh/csh man, everything else is eye-candy :)))

i like mc. it reminds me of the DOS shell of my childhood

>i've had so many porblems with my ati card, i love nvidia.
That's rather odd, although Nvidia tends to be higher-end than ATI, it seems that they have more vertex shader problems than ATI. I've seen several programmers complain that their vertex shaders look great on ATI cards, but turn into "polygon soup" on Nvidias.

I've just never been able to work well with linux on an ait, but nvidia just works so well.

i like mc. it reminds me of the DOS shell of my childhood

you mean it reminds you of Norton Commander/Volkov Commander? ;)

no, the ms dos shell with its lovely blue colour scheem.

anybody tried freedos? i can't even download it because there's too much traffic.

I dont like it. Has anyone tried the Windows XP Powershell by the way?

Imagine BASH for XP. Thats basically it. It rocks, full scripting support and most POSIX commands work.