Wow this is a bit weird. Well I'm not an expert in Linux. But I know that iptables responsible for the system firewall. So i went in to /etc/sysconfig and vim the iptables and i see that port 25 and 110 is accept. How come when I telnet the port 25 and 110, it is show that the connection is refuse. I did open up my router firewall also for the port 25 and 110. So I'm stuck at this point. Don't know why these two ports is not open. I need these two ports for my sendmail to be able to send and receive email to the outside source. Please lighten up me with your solution, anyone? :)

I'm really appreciated if you can, and I also really appreciated if you try. Thanks guy...

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I'm a bit confused when you say you are trying to telnet into ports 25 and 110. Do you mean you're trying to ping your server? You'll need to do a portscan to see if those ports are open or not.

Telnet is the daemon that lets you run a shell remotely, and is usually done via port 23.

I did try to do nmap -sS for localhost and etc.. 25 and 110 is in the state closed. But my router configuration is open for it.. and iptables' port 25 and 110 is accepting. When i do telnet.. (usually you telnet a port is to see if the port is accept the connection or not.. so you'll know it's open or closed).. for 25 and 110, it say connection refuse, but i telnet port 22.. and port 22 is open for a connection.

So any suggestion?

Thanks for replying to me so fast :)...

This isn't exactly my field of expertise. However, does it make sense that perhaps despite the ports being open through your firewall, sendmail is not configured properly, and therefore there is no daemon listening to those open ports, to respond to you when you try to telnet to them?