I'm new to OS X. In the desktop view options, I have nothing checked, however the icons for my two hard drives are constantly being rearranged when I restart.
Is there any way to make it like OS 9 so that no matter what the hard drive icons are always in the same place?
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I'm new to OS X. In the desktop view options, I have nothing checked, however the icons for my two hard drives are constantly being rearranged when I restart.
Is there any way to make it like OS 9 so that no matter what the hard drive icons are always in the same place?
Thanks

The easiest way to make the hard drives stay put is to use the Arange By menu commands and arrange by Name (which will alphabetize the volumes) or one of the other options. The Arrange By menu is located under the View menu on the top of the screen.

But, seriously, I wouldn't worry about viewing your hard drives on the desktop (these are really volumes). Use the Finder preferences and cause them to appear in the left side of the Finder window. The volumes will always stay in the order you place them and you can access them more quickly because you only need to click once to see their contents. The Volumes will appear under "Devices" title if you are running Leopard (Mac OS X 10.5x) or at the top of the Finder window under older systems. You then do not have to display the drives on the desktop at all. Let the Finder manage your files and drives.

Hope that helped.

Yes, thanks, that does help.
I'd rather have no icons on the desktop, I've never been fond of the whole Apple Icon thing, a little too cutesy. I use mine for music so a black screen would be wonderful.
I'm using OS 10.4.11. So in the Finder/Preferences/General window, I see I can turn off the Hard disks from showing on the desktop.
What I don't see is where you access them in the Finder. I have 2 hard drives in my 800 MHz Quicksilver, one is partitioned so it shows up as 2 icons in the desktop. So that's 3 total.