I'm the owner of a computer repair shop. I have a degree in Computer Engineering Technology along with several certifications and am well versed in PC and notebook repair; it is how I make my living. I have been being asked on an increasingly more often rate if I repair Macs. I have never personally used a Mac and the only Apple product I own is an iPod Touch. I would like to somehow transition into incorporating Mac repair into my business. What would be the best way for me to learn? I realize that I should probably buy a Mac just to learn how to use it but are there any good websites with tutorials, maybe even video tutorials on the subject? I have Googled this on many occasions and the best thing I've found is this:

http://www.powerbookmedic.com/mac-repair.php

However, this helps with hardware if you don't know how computer hardware interacts and the roles each piece plays. What I really need is to understand how to solve software related problems and how to recognize from the OS when it is a hardware problem; similar to how I am versed with a Windows-based system. Maybe it is not as difficult of a transition as I am thinking but it remains an area of the unknown to me and I would prefer to know before I waste an excessive amount of precious time for nothing.

Any direction would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

If you want to repair mac you definitely must have a mac to experience with. I suggest you go and buy a macbook and learn how to use. When you buy a macbook, it come with a user guide, read finish the whole book. Or you can go to

http://www.apple.com/startpage/

Need more help just post, i am willing to help you but first get a macnook.

Good luck,

If your problem is solved can you please mark the thread as solved. You can do that by going to the bottom. Thanks, i appreciate it.

commented: Perhaps you should start by offerring descent advice instead of pushing everyone into marking their threads solved -3