I did a Virex scan by McAfee and this is what it found. Anyone, please review and please tell me what I should do, and if I should be worried. I'm new to the mac platform, so please go easy on me.

Virex Report
12/6/06 7:41 PM
Engine version: 5.1.00
DAT version: 4907

Scanning folder "/Applications/GarageBand.app"
Warning: StuffIt archives will not be cleaned or deleted, infections in "/Applications/GarageBand.app/Contents/Resources/Comp_GB_welcome.tiff" will be noted but not acted upon.
Scan of "/Applications/GarageBand.app" completed.
Total files: 1724

12/6/06 7:42 PM
Total files: 1724

I'm just wondering why it will be noted and not acted upon? I used GarageBand once when I first got this computer, and that was this passed August. Also, whats with the StuffIt archives?

Should I be worried? Anybody that can shed some light on this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance...

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hey. I'm just wondering. Did I post this question in the wrong forum? Alot of views, and no response yet. Please let me know, Thank you.

Hmm, I'm not too familiar with Macs (But I just ordered one today :)), but did it give you an option to delete them?

One side of me is telling you to not worry about it, mainly because Macs aren't supposed to have viruses.

At the same time, the other side of me is telling you to delete the 'infected' file.

My guess is that McAfee is using heuristic scanning methods, which basically means that it scans for possible dangerous code techniques, rather then comparing the file itself to known viruses.

What does this mean? It's probably a false positive (FP), but I can't promise that.

Thanks.

EDIT:

http://www.mcafee.com/us/enterprise/products/anti_virus/file_servers_desktops/virex.html

Proven anti-virus technology
VirusScan for Mac for Macintosh stops every type of virus and malicious code threat, even compressed files; using advanced heuristics and generic detection,

My guess is that it's a FP.