HI, looking for some advice from the mac users here.

I recently got a side job supporting computers in a church office. There is also a k-8 school filled with macs that I had nothing to do with until last week. The wants to upgrade it's computers(the macs thye have are 5 years old). They are also considering going to PC's, so they have asked me to price the cost of switching entirely over to PC's. But the teacher currently in charge of maintaining the macs is bent on staying with macs.

The software they want to use is out there for both platforms, basically this comes down to OS X vs Win XP. The teachers main concern is stability. She claims she never has problems with the macs and is under the impression Windows will do nothing but crash and never work for her. She is about all the school has when it comes to IT, but she is also a teacher, she does not want to waste class time troubleshooting.

As for me, I have limited mac knowledge, but I am not a diehard Microsft person either. Part of me says "if it's not broke, don't fix it" If macs work for them, fine let them stay with macs. Another part of me says, PC's are out there, like them are not, almost any job now ideas will require the use of one.

So, in an educational enviroment, is a mac still better than a pc? I'm looking for pros and cons of using macs in such an enviroment. Or if anyone has witnessed the conversion of macs to pc, how did that go?

Thanks
Ken

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

All Macs come loaded with software ideal to the classroom, iMovie, iPhoto, Garageband and Appleworks to name just the obvious ones.
They are also easy to network, virus free and, as your friend points out never crash.
All of these points make the Mac perfect for a school situation where troubleshooting time is often not available - especially when they already have software licences available.