Hi,

I am studying Computer Engineering (2nd year). I would like to buy a laptop but dont really know anything about the laptop market.
I was wondering if a Mac would be recommended for me to use for my programming work?
Any avice would be appreciated. Thank You.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Mac's are definitely very common among computer science or computer engineering students. I'm not sure they're really the best.

I would recommend a PC laptop on which you install Linux for a dual boot with Windows. Windows is better than Mac for using the engineering software you might need for your courses and projects. And Linux is a much better development environment (for programming tasks) than Mac, although Mac isn't bad either, anything is better than Windows in that department. And at the end of the day, a PC laptop will be a lot cheaper than an equivalent Mac laptop, and I assume that for you, as a student, money is a factor.

I even know people in this field who bought a Mac, thinking it would be appropriate for their work, and ended up replacing Mac OSX with Windows, and installing Linux on the side (dual boot).

My wife is a staff physicist in the computing division of Fermi National Laboratory, doing serious software development for high-energy physics research. Her development systems are Macs, but the code she writes has to be cross-platform to Linux and Unix as well. The GNU compiler, Clang, and such are all available for the Mac, which under the covers is running BSD Unix.

Member Avatar for iamthwee

If by programming you're gonna do .net then you're pretty much fubared with a mac.

@iamthwee - well, Microsoft is releasing the source code to .NET and the CLR needed to run C# applications. Graphics? Well we shall see! :-) At this point, I think that Mono runs on the Mac.

Member Avatar for iamthwee

@iamthwee - well, Microsoft is releasing the source code to .NET

Are they? Wow.

At this point, I think that Mono runs on the Mac.