Im fairly new to mac computers and i have a power book g4 and it says that i have used approx. 57.27 gb of the 74 gb that are on there. I cant figure out how i used that much space and i tried getting rid of programs, pictures, videos, anything i could to get some space back..but nothing is working.Im not sure if i deleted things wrong ( i thought that i could just throw the program in the trash to delete them) Was that wrong? Do i now need to reformat my computer and how would i do it because im afraid of messing up my computer it i try to figure it out myself.

please please please help..someone

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Assuming you've got precious data on your Mac, I would say you should start by backing up the data. If it's a relatively small amount of data that you need to backup, you can simply burn it on a blank CD/DVD. Or if you have a network, you can back it up on another machine.

Now that you're ready to wipe everything, I would suggest the best thing to do is follow my guide to reinstalling Tiger. Make sure you choose the "Erase+Install" option when installing, and it will automatically reformat your hard drive.
http://www.daniweb.com/techtalkforums/thread54207.html

Hope this helps

Im fairly new to mac computers and i have a power book g4 and it says that i have used approx. 57.27 gb of the 74 gb that are on there. I cant figure out how i used that much space and i tried getting rid of programs, pictures, videos, anything i could to get some space back..but nothing is working.Im not sure if i deleted things wrong ( i thought that i could just throw the program in the trash to delete them) Was that wrong? Do i now need to reformat my computer and how would i do it because im afraid of messing up my computer it i try to figure it out myself.

please please please help..someone

Just curious.
Which Mac operating system are you using?