I'm a graphic designer by education and am having to come up with a business proposal for my bosses as to why I need a Mac. Basically, I need to give the bosses the reasons why you buy a Mac and not a PC for doing design work. For me, I just know that the Mac is the way to go for doing design work. I'm not IT savvy and therefore can't get very specific with them about the reasons.

Can someone please help out with giving me reasons for the Mac compared to the PC? I am looking at getting the 24" 2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Extreme, 2GB RAM, 500GB Serial ATA Drive. I know it's expensive, roughly $3000 but putting together a PC that has that same kind of power is coming up to be the same cost. Aside from pricing, what can I use as fuel to get the Mac?

Help would be greatly appreciated.

I am a Marketing and Sales Support Manager for an Occupation Medicine business, and design material for the company itself.

Thanks,

jonesbr20

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

No its not. Macs are very expensive

You can get the same dell (desktop) for approx $1000

For the purpose of research, I decided to try to configure a Dell system that was as close possible to the specs of the 24" iMac that the original poster mentioned in his/her post. They still have some notable differences, but close enough for the purposes of the comparison. (All products and their respective prices are American.)

iMac 24"

Operating system: Mac OS 10.5 (Leopard)
Processor: Intel Core 2 Extreme 2.8 Ghz
RAM: 2 x 1 GB 667 Mhz DDR2 SDRAM
Hard drive: 500 GB SATA
Optical drive: 8x DVD (DL/SL) +/-RW, CD+/-RW
Keyboard: Apple Keyboard
Display: Built-in 24" widescreen glossy LCD
Video card: ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO w/ 256 MB VRAM
Modem: None
Web cam: Built-in iSight
Networking: 10/100/1000 Base-T
Wireless: 108.11g (54Mb/s)
Bluetooth: Built-in Bluetooth 2.0
Included software: iLife '08
Warranty / tech support: 1 year warranty, 90 days phone support

Total price: $2,229

Dell XPS 720

Operating system: Vista Business