Ok, I got my hands on a Mac G3 and it has 9.2.2 (clean install) on it. I have the OS 10.4 install CDs (four of them) and want to upgrade.

Is there anyway of mounting the .dmg files inside OS 9.2.2 and installing rather than from boot? (similar to a 9.x upgrade)

- Also, does 10.4 also include a os9 install as default? or has that been fased out. I am still new to mac but figuring out things as I go.

Late,

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

No, OS X has to be installed while booting from the CDs, in your case.

Classic (as OS9 has been depricated to) is not installed as standard with Tiger. However, since you already have 9.2.2 installed on the Mac, OS X will be installed "over it" (it doesn't interfere with the 9.x install at all) and you can use your existing 9.x install as Classic. No need to reinstall Classic.

I have an IMAC and I have been having big problems with it. I had someone come look at it and now its worse. I now have os9 and OSx. When my computer starts it starts with OSx when it used to start with os9. I cannot log onto the Internet or change any of my settings. Someone please HELP!

hi there can n e 1 help me pls, i have an mac book 10.4.8 and my son has completely locked me out f it and now its askine me 4 a admin passwrd, and i dnt no it, or what i can do 2 get it off!!! it was a gift frm my brther who had all this set up 4 me and has recently passed away!!! as u can imagine i dnt wnt 2 get rid of it 4 personal reasons and been advised that i need a OS X START UP DISC but im not a comp techy, an dnt no where 2 start can n e 1 pls , pls, pls help me! id be vry greatful.....

>hi there can n e 1 help me pls
Probably. But if you want a better chance of people actually replying, you may want to read the first paragraph of this:
http://www.daniweb.com/techtalkforums/faq.php?faq=daniweb_policies#faq_keep_it_clean

>i have an mac book 10.4.8 and my son has completely locked me out f it and now its askine me 4 a admin passwrd