hey,

I'm considering purchasing an iBook with an AirportExtreme card in it so that i can (hopefully) network my pc and my new mac together super easily and still be super mobile. I was wondering, since I have a cable internet connection and leave my pc all pretty much all the time, how difficult would it be for me to get my mac & windows box to communicate so I can share my internet connection and my files between them from anywhere in my home.

I'm also assuming that I can do pretty much all of this from any standard wireless network card that I just plug into my pc.

What worries am I going to have doing this, and what do I need to get to ensure that it all goes together smoothly so I can just come home from uni with my laptop, open it up downstairs and start checking my emails as i relax and not have to worry about walking upstairs to touch my windows machine at all.

Any suggestions on software (open source is preferred - i'm a poor uni student who likes to code) or articles I should get/read would be appreciated as well as your own tips (to tell you the truth I'm hella-excited to be getting an iBook and can't wait to play with osX).

Thanks, n30n.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Hello,

I would love to help you with this, but need to know more about your setup. I assume that the Mac is going to be OS X, and the Windows XP machine is already there and running. What I need to know is 1) how knowledgable are you with the systems, and 2) how your network is going to be wired.

Once we get that figured out, I can help you with the details.

Christian

I know my WindowsXP machine like the back of my hand, I've been using windows for 7+ years. I'm not totally sure about the mac, I don't know much about it's inner workings, etc. but I'd like to learn about them.

I'm thinking of setting up the network with a 802.11g pci card in my pc, and my iBook will have an Airport Extreme card.