Hello,

I am a student and recently bought a new windows laptop with Vista on it.

I also have bought the CS4 Adobe Master Suite for my computer.

When installing just TWO programs from the Adobe Creative Suite CS4: Photoshop and InDesign I keep getting "Error 1603"

I did a google search for recommended ways to fix this.

I contacted some of my techie friends from school and have spend about 12 hours going round and round trying and still the error comes up.

I have done the following:
cleared my registries,
emptied my temp files,
I have plenty of memory 500GB,
I've run adobe clean script,
CCleaner,
bitcomet,
took off all CS3 Adobe products,
I've closed all applications,
rebooted several times...
Turned off my AdAware when installing
Turned off McAfee & firewall when installing

I will appreciate any HELP and suggestions to install my Adobe Photoshop to my computer.

Thank you for your time!

Muggs Ballard
LavenderBees@aol.com

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

You can refer Microsoft.com

You may receive this error message if any one of the following conditions is true:

* The folder that you are trying to install the Windows Installer package to is encrypted.
* The drive that contains the folder that you are trying to install the Windows Installer package to is accessed as a substitute drive.
* The SYSTEM account does not have Full Control permissions on the folder that you are trying to install the Windows Installer package to. You notice the error message because the Windows Installer service uses the SYSTEM account to install software.

If you click on the link above they offer a few solutions.

Has anyone else had this problem? How did you resolve it?

I am experienceing the same thing you went through, bought CS4 today at foothill college library anxious to install it...so far it has been a nightmare with that error 1604

Hello,

I am a student and recently bought a new windows laptop with Vista on it.