I am running windows XP and would like to reformat my computer but I have never done this before,how do you go about doing it?Any tips or help would be great!!!
My system is older here is the specks.
Microsoft windows XP
Home edition
service pack 1

AMD Athlon Xp 1600
1.39GHz
128 MB off Ram

Thanks Ally :confused:

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

are you just installing XP as a fresh install?

If so stick your XP CD in the drive, you will be asked if you want to repair your existing install or install fresh, choose a new install.

you will then be asked where you want to install XP, this screen allows you to delete/create partitions, delete your existing partition, I think it is done by pressing (from memory...) d, ENTER, L (but the instructions are on screen so don't be too concerned.

Then create a new partition, again the Windows install will help you out by telling you the maximum size you can have etc.

The next screen asks you how you want to format the drive,

options will probably be something like:

NTFS
NTFS (quick)
Fat32
Fat32 (quick)

make your choice (I always go for NTFS (quick) - no probs as yet) and they you go - one formatted HDD, and Windows will continue with a nice fresh install.

Let me know if you need anything clarifying, or if you want to format, but do not want to install XP

SE (Dave)

If you have a burner I would suggest yo ugo to www.misrosoft.com/downloads and get SP2 first and burn it to disk and make it you first install right after you install winxp .

Great tip, but would the machine run SP2?

I thought the requirements on SP2 where a bit higher (256Mb RAM)

SE (Dave)

Great tip, but would the machine run SP2?

I thought the requirements on SP2 where a bit higher (256Mb RAM)

SE (Dave)

Yeah ,you could be right ,missed that ,I actuall would recomend 256 for XP with out any of the sps'