I hate this FREAKING "Your current security settings put your compute at risk" Message!!!

I have tried changing permissions on the following files:
wscapi.dll
wscsvc.dll
wscui.dll

Renamed them all to .bak files
Went into registry and deleted the wscsvc registry key under HKLM/system/current control set/ services
Rebooted the machine and it still comes back.

I can't use GPEDIT.MSC because in MS's INFINITE STUPIDITY they removed it from the home versions of VISTA and I have Home Premium!!

Its not like anybody in all th 900 Million people in the world that use Windows would ever want to use GPEDIT.MSC in VISTA HOME now would they!@!!!

I am a PC tech with plenty of experience and understand the consequences of disabling "windows security settings" but they are TOOO ANNOYING to work with on a daily basis, and of course a DECENT AV, SPyware, Adware program will do 1 Million times more to protect your computer any way!!

HELP

Recommended Answers

All 24 Replies

What about actually changing your Internet security settings? Like noting what they are now then briefly setting them to maximum (or minimum - IE can be strange)?

Might there be some Javascript setting that needs changing?

It might be the only way of getting rid of the message - mess with your security settings.

What about actually changing your Internet security settings? Like noting what they are now then briefly setting them to maximum (or minimum - IE can be strange)?

Might there be some Javascript setting that needs changing?

It might be the only way of getting rid of the message - mess with your security settings.

That is the problem.
I have them set at what I want and that is why the message keeps coming up.
I have them set below "recommended settings" by microsoft and this is why the message is coming up.

I just can't figure out why it still comes up when the Service is supposed to be disabled and the Reg Key is Deleted!!!

IKE

http://www.itechtalk.com/thread4454.html