I am trying to help my brother-in-law get his computer on line and I can't get his computer to recognize the modem. He is running Windows 95, ( I know it is old, but it what he can afford) I have the ISP all set up, but can't get the machint to see that there is a modem in it. It tells me that there is no modem. I am not sure what kind of modem is in it, or even what kind of computer it is. No markings on the outside at all. It was given to him. I am not an expert by any means and am just trying to be a good sister-in-law, but this is driving me nuts. If I can get this thing on line then I can get him upgraded and give him more memory. Can any one out there tell me how to get the computer to see the modem?
goldie15537@earthlink.net

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I'm not exactly sure if I can remember back into the days of good ol' Win95 but I'll give it my best shot.

My first guess would be to check out the device manager and see if it's listed there, even as an unknown device or with uninstalled drivers. If it is, you're in luck. But we'll think about that later.

From what you described, most likely this isn't the case. Rather, your computer can't detect the modem at all? Perhaps you can check in the BIOS (Cmos setup, when you start up your computer) and make sure all PCI slots are enabled. (The PCI slot being how the modem is connected to the computer's motherboard).

Either way, I would definitely open up the machine and check out the make and model of the modem (it'll be printed on the modem card, itself). You said the rest of the machine is very old - how old is the modem? Is it possible for anything in this computer to have "died"? (Stuff occassionally does that to yaz over the years, although it doesn't seem like the case here).

Get back to us :)
I'll try to help some more