I am new to generating a thread, hope I can get some relief after many days of trying to get information.

Have Gateway 450ROG labtop, attacked by spyvirus, advised to remove all files and all programs/information on hard drive. Also replace BIOS battery which freed up BIOS for admin access, don't know if password must be inputted or can be left blank.

Trying to locate drivers to load on hard drive, trying to use NexStarSX with its driver CD, learned that drivers require Op sys s/w to load them and op sys s/w needs drivers to load it, a dilemna. Probably need instructions as to how to do this.

Also during set up told that I might need "mfgr supplied diagnostic or set up program" thus set up cannot continue. Also see codes when trying to boot: PXE-E61 Media Test Failure-check cable and PXE-MOF Exiting Intel Boot Agent Op. Sys not found. I don't know what these codes really mean other than their title. Your help will be greatly appreciated, otherwise the trash can is awaiting to receive this laptop which I have gotten attached to! Thanks, sorry for the long thread.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

finito-since my send'g thread,connect HD in Nexstar HDD cradle to PC and was able to write and read from HD. Cannot do this on my laptop, suspicious about connection to HD in laptop, also HD not recognized when in cradle and connect to laptop with external cable/USB connectors. Is there a way to learn about connection problems without opening laptop, have no problem opening laptop to look for the obvious, any experience with this level of troubleshooting? thnx.herb 262