I don't have a Windows 2000 computer, but allow me to explain why I would want information on upgrading one.

Vista has been the source of a great deal of worry for me over the past few months. I have a laptop that currently has Windows XP Home Edition. It's extremely important that I get Windows Vista on this laptop as soon as it comes out, strangely enough, for personal reasons. I don't know if the laptop's systems specs are enough to handle Vista (only a gig memory and 128mb video ram), but I'm sure it's far too early to know that for sure.

Because of the software pre-installed on the machine, a clean install won't work. The reason why I am asking about upgrading from Windows 2000 is that I have never tried to run an upgrade before, and I'm thinking my mind might be able to rest easier if I learn a bit more about how the upgrade process works. I searched online, but the only info I was able to find was upgrading from 98 to XP. Windows 98 is a whole different type of operating system, so it's no wonder that the upgrade process is a real headache. I know that Windows 2000 is really NT 5.0, Windows XP is really NT 5.1, and Windows Vista is really NT 6.0, so I figured that the experience of upgrading from 2000 would be more similar to what my experience may be like in upgrading to Vista.

So, assuming I have a Windows 2000 computer:

1. Can I expect some programs that would otherwise be fully compatible with the new OS to not function correctly afterwards without reinstallation?
2. Does the upgrade process erase the existing drivers? If so, is it still possible to re-install the drivers meant for 2000 to get the hardware working, or would I need XP-specific drivers?
3. Will the upgraded OS be as stable as a fresh install?
4. Does upgrading fail to add specific features?

Note that this laptop is used for web development, and will be used for college when I go in January. I play a few low-system requirement games on it.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies