ok im a way newbie at all this so be patient with me please.
whne i boot my computer up and log into my profile the only thing that shows up besides my wallpaper is a registry keys box, my explorer.exe will not load on its own i have to do the ctrl+alt+del to get the task manager then run new task to get my explorer to load. after i do that it runs fine until we log off then we go thru the same thing again.
i have a lot of disk space left (my puter says im only using 3%) on my puter but its running very slow too. if anyone can offer me any insight on how i may fix this problem i would appreciate it.

my os is windows xp pro
i use nortons antivirus 2005, microsoft antispyware, web root spysweeper daily ( as in actually scan the puter). if i need to give u anymore info please let me know what info and maybe how to find that info as well please.

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

In MSCONFIG did you turn off rundll32 from starting, I believe explorer will not work if you do that. Odd Problem.

i havent turned anything off. but how would i check to see if it is off?

the only thing that shows up... is a registry keys box

A what?? Can you please clarify that with more detail?

1. Does the computer/Explorer run properly when booted into Safe Mode? (you get to the safe mode boot option by hitting the F8 key as your computer is starting up).

2. Open the Event Viewer utility in your Administrative Tools control panel and look through your System and Application logs for entries flagged with "Error" or "Warning" which might be related to the Explorer problem. Double-clicking on such an entry will open a properties window with more detailed information on the error; post that info here. To do so: