Hi all,
my configuration is :
2 HDD SATA Seagate 200G each, RAID, Windows Xp , Mobo Asus a7n8x.
The problem :
Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt : \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM
So, I tried to get to the recovery console to fix this problem by replacing the missing or corrupted file, but I can't access the console using the Windows CD... a new message pops up saying that Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your comput.
So, my question is :
How to get the recovery console to work at this point ?
I didn't mount this PC and I'm a newbie in this area, but how can I tell what kind of RAID this is ? RAID 0, 1 .. etc.
I have the sata driver sil3112 installed, both HDD are well plugged in and working...could it be a corrupted RAID array ? can I reinstall it ? or disabling it while attending the repair of the corrupted file ?
Thank you all for your help. Karlos

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I think that you can't get into the recovery console uless you install the drivers for your SCSI controller. You have to hit F6 at the beggining of the windows setup, then insert a floppy that contains the drivers.

You have a MAJOR problem there. 3 problems that are solvable, but just barely. I've been there and it isn't pretty.

1st problem is SATA + XP (not sp1 nor sp2) you MUST have (so-called) F6 driver floppy (yes, floppy) to reinstall the windows. XP has difficulty with SATA controllers and doesn't have necessary drivers to access the drives. Your motherboard came with bootable Driver CD and utility that creates F6 driver floppy. (providing you have a floppy drive installed - if not, you'll have to install one - it's cheap)

To find out which RAID mode you're using you need to press f10 key during boot-up that will open a RAID Settings window (2 identcal HD's means it is probbably stripping mode, but mirroring and spanning are possible)