Hi,

Laptop: IBM T40

Windows xp SP2

Takes a very long time to log in and when it finally does it says that windows explorer needs to close with InPageError: P1: c000009c P2: 00000003. I am unable to get to anything except the task manager and even that does not let me run anything from it and eventually crashes as well. I can start in safe mode with command prompt and I have been trying to do things in there but I'm not an expert at computers so I'm not getting very far. I have tried the sfc /scannow but it does not work and the chkdsk found a few bad parts and then had errors of its own. My goal is just to get the data off of this computer so that I can wipe it and start over. I have an external drive and I'm not able to access it from the command prompt. I think I need to mount it manually but I do not know how to do that, can someone help me?

R

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

did you trying booting up your xp cd and then running the repair/restore on it.

if you need to get the data off your computer and you or someone you know has a linux live cd boot up the live cd and then back up all the data from your windows partition.

Hi,

I did try that. The problem is that this is work a computer and the guy who set it up does not remember the admin password and my password does not work even though I have admin privelages. So the xp cd would not let me run the repair utility.

I do need to get the data off of this computer. The computer only has xp installed on it. If I could find someone who has the linux live cd how exactly would that work? I had a very limited experience with linux about 5 or 6 years ago but not since so I am unfamiliar with it. Would I need to install linux onto the system?

Thank you very much for your help. Being on a research team of just me and my boss does not lend to having a lot of tech support or funding so we have to figure out everything on our own and any help is greatly appreciated.

R