Hello everybody!

Right now I own a Satellite C655 and I am planning to upgrade to a new laptop. I am looking for something faster & around 400$. I work as a web developer & CM and this laptop isnĀ“t working at its best when it comes to multitasking.

Any suggestions please?

Lauren Variant commented: Thanks for your information +0

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

It would be very hard to not beat your model if it's this one:
https://www.cnet.com/products/toshiba-satellite-c655/review/

If you are totally lost, let's start with the best sellers on Amazon. This is at:
https://www.amazon.com/Best-Sellers-Computers-Accessories-Traditional-Laptop/zgbs/pc/13896615011/ref=zg_bs_nav_pc_2_565108

Ignore the chromebooks.

The current #1 is under 400 but to hit that price it has half the RAM I'd want to see, only the core i3 and a stock sluggish HDD. But it should be a step up.

At #3 and just under 600 is Core i5 powered, 8GB RAM and a 256GB SSD. Now this will perform to most folks expectations.

Nod to models with i5 or better, 8GB or better and SSD.

You can use Dell XPS 13, HP Spectre x360, Acer Aspire S 13, Lenovo Yoga 910, Asus ZenBook UX310.

You can use them, yes, but you cannot buy them for anywhere near $400 Amy. Which is what the OP set as a budget...

Any particular requirements in regards to screen size, specs? If you are doing a lot of multitasking then you'll want enough RAM to keep up as well as a relatively decent processor.

A quick Google search lead me to this article: https://thetechreviewer.com/tech-tips/best-laptop-under-400/

Seems like their #1 choice offers a 720P display, 2.5GHz quad-core processor, 8GB of RAM and a 1TB disk drive which is plenty of what you'll likely be doing. The price raised slightly since they posted the article, but B&H is only showing it at $419.