I'm a coder that doesn't know much about hardware, but I have a question that's been bugging me for a long, long time.

If I took a pretty new and fast machine (and I'm mostly interested in laptops) such as a recent XP or Win 7 and tried to put an older operating system on it such as Win 2000 or Win 98, what chance is there that I could get a decent display resolution other then the 640 X 480 or whatever it is you get from an OEM install without the specific display driver? Likely the manufacturer's download page wouldn't have drivers for anything other than what they put on the machine, so how generic or specific are these drivers. I really don't have any feel for this. I don't fool with these sorts of things much.

Would this work easier for desktops?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

well support for older os (2000 and 98) is going to be drastically less than current.. i mean, you are talking about 10+ years of technology enhancements.

however.. i slightly remember having 1200 x 700 on an old 98 system. but don't take that in stone, it could have been xp. i would stick with xp or newer if i was you.

As an idea you could install Linux on the system and then put the old os in a virtual application (Oracle VirtualBox works well) and there are several emulators like dosbox for Linux that give you a virtual system with simulated Floppy disk drives etc.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DOSBox

The Oracle VirtualBox supports the following per their documentation:

Windows NT 4.0
All versions, editions and service packs are fully supported; however, there are some issues with older service packs. We recommend to install service pack 6a. Guest Additions are available with a limited feature set.

Windows 2000 / XP / Server 2003 / Vista / Server 2008 / Windows 7
All versions, editions and service packs are fully supported (including 64-bit versions, under the preconditions listed below). Guest Additions are available.

DOS / Windows 3.x / 95 / 98 / ME