I thankful to have found this site through Google (number 4 I think on "WinXP no mouse no keyboard" search).

In starting with a second question, I'll ask what moderator I could e-mail a HijackThis log to that must contain nearly 300 items? I'm new at a computer repair shop and recently discovered HJT and MWShredder (?) and StartUp List, etc. My new-green color led me to try these on a laptop today too...

A Compaq Evo came in. It's got WinXP and the owner hits Ctrl+Alt+Delete before putting in his name and password onto just one of many Networks ID's.

His laptop was running slower than you can imagine. Norton and Symantec and McAfee all reported no viruses. It took forever, but I installed HJT, et al in a folder on his desktop via a CD-ROM and ran HJT. I'm too new at this and got giddy.

No pro looked at that list and I rebooted after a significant "Fix." The computer ran great like a P4 should. I was happy. I rebooted several times to ensure things were well. All was well until I tried to unzip another anti-spy soft.

Things got slow again. I realized that I had about 60 seconds every reboot before a freeze. I beat the clock and beat the clock and deleted backups from HJT thinking they were replacing themselves. On another 60 second round I finally found the Processes (?) and found that mcshield was ramping up within 60 seconds to steal 99% of the CPU. I lowered its Priority to Low from highest.

That triggered System 'something' to 99% (like hibernate, but not that word-it's at the bottom of the list literally). After 60 seconds more, I was free to work the computer normally although 99% was still designated to the bottom process. I got giddy again.