Hi Guys

I discovered that my partner had tried to install spyware on the computer we share at home .. Anyway to cut a long story short he is the administrator and he has access to all of my folders and my profile which I dont mind however I want to be able to acess the d drive which gives me the access denied error message. I dont want to reset his administrator password but would like access to that drive

any suggestions?

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

The d drive is a separate hd? Try changing ownership of that specific drive.. it should give you all permissions if you audit it correctly.

hmmm ok I am not that technical .. all I know is that I dont have permission to access any folders on the d drive and I want to be able to without having to change passwords .. is that possible?

right click the d drive, and click the security tab. Post what is listed there (ie. group/user names and whether or not the 'Permissions' for each user is grayed out.. as if you could not change the permission)

ok I did one better here is a screen shot

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e38/funkeegal/funx.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e38/funkeegal/owner.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e38/funkeegal/permissions.jpg

hope this helps

Ok great, that helps. What user are you? funx, I am assuming..

Try this: go to where you were in owner.jpg; Notice the two 'denies' under type. Try to click 'edit' and change both to 'allow'

Try to access the files, post what happens..

ok here is what I did

went to security tab
highlighted funx right clicked got an error message saying what is this

Clicked the green boxs pressed apply to all they would let me special permissons was greyed out .

Tried to click on the folder and got the access denied message

ok here is what I did

went to security tab
highlighted funx right clicked got an error message saying what is this

Clicked the green boxs pressed apply to all they would let me special permissons was greyed out .