Hello people. I am a security analyst from a computer security solution company. I am handling a project where an entreprise of 50 to 100 employee which requires an Active Directory to maintain their staff in the LAN network. So my team and I have deplyoed an active directory for that entreprise and all the PC and laptop have been configured to join the AD. But the problem arises as there will be 2 login option for the users. One being the localhost or localadmin login which they were using before and another one is the AD login option. However some of the users (actually almost 99% of them) are stubborn and don't want to use the AD account because the password complexity is high which requires caps, small, numeric and special characters. So they continue to use their localhost login option to do their daily routine. I need to find a solution for this and I am almost out of ideas while thinking about this. Mty question is, is there any way to force or make the employee to login the AD account everytime they are in office? Hope to get a very good reply for this problem. A solution which would not cost any expenses if possible. Hope to see replies very soon. Thanks guys. Really appreciate your time.

Vkey

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hello. There are several ways to handle this. One being is to simply use a group policy object (GPO) to reset the local administrator password for the computers in the domain. If the user's no longer have the local admin password, they will not be able to log on their computers.

Of course, in addition to any technial solution that is implemented, you need to define a corporate/organizational security policy that dictates the the use of the local admin account is prohibited and only allowed to be used under certain conditions.

Aside from changing the password, on Windows 7 computers, the account can be easily disabled as well.