Hello All,

I'm a newbie to the forum and it is a tremendous site. I have a HP Pavillion M8150N with a quad core 2.4, (2)320 drives, upgraded to 4gbram ... and ... its a great machine. I bought it 18 months ago and it fixed every problem I had with my old celeron 1.7 machine.

I bought a "project" pavillion M9040N desktop box with no hard drives. It is similar to the 8150 ... so I bought an HP Restore Disc and moved my (1) unused 320 SATA drive from my 8150 to the other machine ... and expected to just power it up and restore vista and have a nice backup machine.

It wasn't quite that easy. After a bunch of tries, I <powered on>, <hit F10>, entered the setup program and made the HD the first device, made the CD the 3rd device, made the CD the first boot device, and set it to display the parameters as it loaded. I don't know if I said that right. I hope you get the idea.

So I power up and it then displays the following and then ... stops ... hangs? ...
===========
AMI Bios ...
Press F10 to run setup
Press ESC ...
Initializing ...
3072 ..
USB ...
SATA Port1 Samsung HD ...
SMART ok
Auto detect Sata 2
sata 2 CD ...
Auto detect USB device 1 generic
Auto detect USB device 2
Auto detect USB device 3
Auto detect USB device 4
04 USB Mass Storage devices found and configured
==============
Thats it, then it stops scrolling or loading ...

Where do I go from here?

I have the Vista restore disk in the CD.

I was expecting to get a prompt.

Thanks very much everybody for any suggestions. This was supposed to be a working machine sans hard drives.
Tim

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Ummmm, you do realise a "restore disk" does not contain a copy of Vista?? A restore disk is used to allow the copy of Windows installed on a hidden partition as if it were an actual disk. A fresh HDD would not have this partition (unless specifically sold to you by HP as such), and thus your recovery disk will do you no good what so ever.