I'm having trouble with sending and receiving messages using MSN Messenger. Some messages arrive at their destination, while others don't. I'm assuming this problem is related to the fact that I've recently started using a router, because I never had the problem before.

Are there ports that need forwarding or something along those lines? I'm new to this stuff, so please help! hehe.

I use Windows XP Pro, and I have a 2 meg ADSL broadband line. I don't use a Windows-based firewall, because the router has one built in (although I use Norton Anti-Virus 2005, which protects me from various internet-based threats)

Thanks muchly :)

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

I originally posted this problem in June, and to this day I am still having the same troubles. Can anyone shed any light on this situation? Here's a run down of the problems I'm having:

* Some messages I send don't reach their destination, and some messages my friends send to me don't reach me either. We are constantly copying and pasting messages to each other. There is rarely an error (i.e. the program doesn't inform either of us that the message has not in fact been sent, we have to just assume each time.)

* The program disconnects me from the service frequently, regardless of how much of my 2 meg bandwidth is available.

* File transferring is impossible. Transfers are cancelled half-way through, and sometimes the program doesn't even acknowledge that I've sent files or accepted files to be sent to me; it just hangs.

I've read countless articles on the net about this, and I keep coming across the terms "NAT" and "UPnP" etc. I have tried to understand the concepts of these terms and how they apply to my problem, but I'm genuinely unable to grasp what it all means lol.