Hi,

I hope I'm posting this in the right place. :) I've also posted the problem I was facing on the Mikrotik forum, but it takes a while for a reply to be approved and I really want to solve this problem quickly. I'm trying to set up a remote surveillance system for my house.

I'm a newbie when it comes to using Mikrotik. I'm using a Mikrotik Metal 2SHPn. I've got 4 Wireless IP cameras that I want to be able to view remotely from wherever I am. The problem is, I'm not sure how to configure my router to do this so I need help right from router configuration to remote viewing of IP cameras. I've been stuck on this for days. I've tried using Quickset and set the Mikrotik configuration mode on "router", but I wasn't able to connect to the internet once I plugged my Mikrotik in my modem, neither was I able to see my cameras both internally and remotely. I've tried putting the mode to "bridge" and I was able to connect to the internet once I plugged my Mikrotik in my modem but I wasn't able to see my cameras internally or remotely. After getting some help, I'm now able to access the internet through the Mikrotik (but it's not set on bridge). The problem now is that I can't access my IP cameras.

Most of the sites and videos I've checked on setting up a mikrotik router use bridge to access the internet. How exactly does this work? Someone recommended using bridge as well when it comes to setting up the ip cameras with the router, but I don't really understand how.

I've got a static IP from my ISP. The modem they gave me is one of those "router+modem" types. Do you think this might make it difficult for me to set up my surveillance system? The subnet mask looks kind of funny as well (255.255.255.255).

My cameras connect to the mikrotik wirelessly.

Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Something is acting as your perimeter device. Theis perimeter device will show the static IP on the WAN interface.