Bear with me as I'm new to this!

This computer was built by a friend of mine about 4 yeas ago. Been working sweet until the other day, there was no signal on the monitor!!

- Have opened up the computer and the fan on the video card (AGP) is still spins happily when pc is on.
- Have swapped with another functioning video card (PCI) and still no luck!
- Have tried using a different monitor and still nothing!
- Have used the original AGP video card in another PC and it works fine!

What on earth could it be!? :cry:

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Someone may have changed the default video card to something else, probably the on-board video. If there isn't on-board video then try switching the monitor to whatever other video card there is. If that doesn't work. Turn of the CPU and unplug it, then take out the cmos battery and put it back in. You could always try to move your ram to a different slot :D. The system is receiving power, correct? And the CPU fan spins? No beeping or anything? What about clicking or clacking from the HD? Check for termites? Or chickens with large talons?

Maybe the last two won't work...

Hope this helps!

Shane McP

Thanks so much for the reply!

No there isn't an onboard video.
Have switched monitor with another pc, and monitor is fine.
Have also moved the ram cards into different slots in every combination!
The system is definately receiving power
No beeps
No clicking or clacking, sounds like it's running normally.
Definately no termites and chickens with talons! (unless they have an invisible spell cast over them! :eek: )

Havent removed the cmos battery and put back in as I really dont know how!!

Does is sound like the motherboard or CPU issue? or something else?!

cheeers! :)