Hi all,
I am a novice and I am struggling hard to get to the root of my display problem. Whenever I start my laptop Dell Inspiron 8100 , the screen start behaving oddly . It shows random lines all over the screen and I can not do anything . It remains like that. I tried connecting the laptop to external projector and monitor and the same problem repeats so I suspect that problem is not with screen . What I get on external monitor is same as what I see on my LCD: Rubbish . I suspect that problem is somewhere with Video card or somewhere else.
Can you please guide me as to how I should proceed.
Thanks a lot for your help
malik

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Hi all,
I took my laptop to Circuit City and showed it to one of their tech guys. We discussed the issue and it seems that this can not be video card problem since a bad video card will not show anything.
He suspect that most probable issue could be bad BIOS. I will post the answer in 2 days as to if this is the real issue or not.
-maliks

Hi all,
He suspect that most probable issue could be bad BIOS.
-maliks

It is very possible your bios got corrupted some how. The only way to fix this would be to get a new motherboard. Is your dell still under warrenty?

No the Dell is not under warrantly now ( I had 4 years of warrantly on this and problem occured after that :)
I am still waitng to hear from Circuit City guy but I got the impression that he can reset the BIOS .
-Shobhit