Ok,

About a week ago, i started playing around with an Ubuntu live cd that i had. The cd was the latest version (Feisty Fawn) and after a while i decided to install it. I was feeling rather enthusiastic and didn't think that much could go wrong so i proceeded with the installation without backing up any of my data (i know, i am an idiot).

Well, a lot did go wrong. The start of the installation started out fine and Ubuntu finished partitioning my hard drive and proceeded to install Ubuntu to the new partition. At 66% through the installation, my cd drive stopped working properly and the installation came to a halt. during the installation, Ubuntu had been running as the operating system through the cd. So, of course when the cd drive stopped working, the whole system basically imploded on itself.

I restarted the machine and found that i got and os error message when i tried to boot windows from the hdd. so i then tried to boot Ubuntu off the live cd but also got an error message when that tried to boot. Finally, i managed to find a Windows XP boot disk lying around and tried to boot off that but i got a blue screen and error message as well.

The next day, i sent my computer to a data doctor to see if he could retrieve any of the files, and he couldn't as the Ubuntu installation had managed to corrupt the whole hdd. Any way, he installed a new hdd with XP on it and also a new ram stick because apparently my old one was corrupt also.

So, i got my computer back, connected it, and urned it on. The machine started up (LEDs, cpu fan spinning, hdd spinning ect...) but the was no video output - i got a blank screen.