I am a software developer and I own a desktop as well as a laptop. Mostly I use the desktop as it is better in performance and has a better configuration then the laptop. But when I have to give a demo to the customer I have to take my laptop with me. Also at night I like to use the laptop on my bed (I know this is a bad practice, but I do so only occasionally). During such times, I copy the latest version of the programs(sourcecode) and transfer it between both machines using the network. I find the regular copy paste job boring.

I am considering to buy an external harddisk (of around 160 GB capacity) and keep all me ebooks, programming tools, programming tutorials, tips collection AND ALL SOURCODES on the external drive. This will enable me to work from either the desktop or laptop without having to copy the required files between them. I will just attach the external harddisk to desktop/laptop and continue working.

Is it a good idea to use an external harddisk as a regular internal drive??

Please guide me.

Thank you.

Lalit Kumar Barik

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

There's no problem that I know of, except to exercise care not to mistreat the drive while moving it around.
You might find a 2.5" portable more convenient.

i suggest you use dvd disc or either thumb drive.. no problem with external hdd but as said by Hughv must be careful..mishandling the hdd will loss all your data..

but if you're dealing with files which disc, thumbdrive got limitations.. why not setup an ftp site.. but in the place you're going must have an internet access..

cool.... much better that USB drive...