Hi All,
Hope I don't sound like too much of a simpleton, but I'm a relative novice.
I have a emachine that had the hard drive die about a year ago, I replaced the old drive and moved it to the slave. this was working fine until last month. At that time, everytime I booted up my machine there would be a series of beeps, and my monitor wold remain blank. But after a couple of tries it would boot. Last week, I booted the machine, and got an error message saying the slave drive was unreadable press F1 to continue. I had another old 40 gig drive and replaced the slave, now everything works fine. When I tried reconnection the first slave to try to retieve data, I got an I/O error.
Does anyone have a suggestion as to how I can salvage my data?

Michaelp69

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

This is a long shot and a slim chance....but You can try:

- changing the IDE cables.
- turning off ALL enhancements (set it to PIO mode)
- turn off HDD block mode
- turn off IDE prefetch mode
- turn off 32 bit transfer
- turn off S.M.A.R.T.
- if there's something I missed, turn it off (NOT the IDE channel, though)

Note: some of these things may not be listed in your BIOS.
If that doesn't do it..... Try it no the different machine. Might just work a little there.

P.S.

I have one HD that is dying last 4 years. It's still kicking. But every now and then it causes a system crush and it wouldn't boot every time. No matter what I do. And it is STILL working, that is, while it is working.

Thanks for the tips, I don't think I'll get a chance to try them before the week-end. I'll let you know what happens.

There's one trick I've heard, but it is an even slimmer chance:

Cooling the drive in the freezer might make it work again, until it worms up.

I think that if the freezing the drive would make it work, that heating it up could do the same if the freezing fails.