I have a compaq 2200 and have not used it since July. I put another battery in; the power was low which is strange as it was plugged in. This battery charged and I did a few things. I then got a blue screen that said windows discovered a problem and shut my computer. I did not add and hard or software. It then went to the restart screen with options; and according to the directions I selected start normally, It never did; but kept repeating this screen. I finally took the battery out to turn off the machine but did put it back in.
When I came home the net day it showed green; yet I am unable to turn the machine on. I cannot tell if there is any energy in it or what.
I did try another power cord and another location to plug it in; but nothing.
When I hit the On button, there is a momentary flash of blue on the 2 lights in the front ' but nothing.,
Obviouly I am not tech savvy. but do need help.. please.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Take out the battery and leave the computer totally without electricity for about 20 seconds. Then re-connect the battery and the cable and press start, clicking on F8 repeatedly as soon as you turn the computer on. Hopefully, it should open a menu of start up options. Choose Safe start and hopefully you'll be able to carry on from there. This, of course, is assuming that your OS is Windows.

efmesch ,thank you for the info. I have another question, please. Is there another way to turn on the computer other than the power button? Mine is loose and I was finally able to get a battery charged .Thank you

I'm afraid that I have no aadvice on your new question--Other than the