Hi guyz..
i recently got a new gpu i.e. radeon HD 6770. This card is quite powerful and runs most of the recent games in at least middle range. Or so i thought..!
When i started the first game on this card, which is POP3 the two thrones, i was taken aback to see in two minutes the pc crashed and rebooted. I suspected overheating as the cpu was crammed and freed some space around it. i even opened the case and through ccc increased the fan speed upto 70%. And yes it ran PoP3 quite okay. But again, when i started playing Dragon age origins, the crashing commenced. What is baffeling that the whole time ccc never showed the temperature reach upto 55C!
i am really annoyed with this and will appreciate any help offfered...:sad:
i am trying to upgrade the gpu drivers by applying hotfix upgrade of ati but i am not sure it will work...
My humble system specs are...
intel dual core 1.6 GHz processor
3 gb ddr2 ram
windows XP 32 bit
and as said above, ati Radeon HD 6770 gpu, ddr5 1 GB memory.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

What is your CPU usage? I doubt it is an overheating issue but you can't rule that out entirely. Seems like some faulty components in your PC. Do you hear any loud noises coming from your fan before and after playing? Are all your drivers updated? Does other game have this problem.

I also want you to test the graphic card on another spare laptop and see whether when you play games like Dragon Age Origins, will the spare laptop crash. This test is to determine the problems like with the video card and not with the computer problem.

thnx jingda for replying so fast..