I have recently been accepted to software engineering at the university of waterloo, and as such my parents have agreed to go 50/50 on a nice computer to bring to waterloo. At first I was looking at a laptop, but then some IT friends of mine suggested that I could get a better desktop and then connect to it through remote desktop. As such I put together a list of parts that I think should work well, but as this is my first time putting a computer together from scratch I have been trying to get as many opinions as possible. Thus this post. Here are the specs for the computer that I put together:

Anyways I want to be absolutely certain that this will work, so any feedback would be helpful. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 30 Replies

The remote desktop idea expereince is going to work as good as upload speeds on both sides of the connection. While remote desktop can run on very little bandwidth, to get a good expereince, you do need some bandwidth. Also this may be nice until you run into the issue where something goes wrong on the remote side where this desktop will be located. Who will be able to assist you in troubleshooting? Then, you'll be stuck with the cheap netbook until you or someone has a chance to help you with the remote side.

Congrats on your acceptance to Waterloo!

The thing is that I have an A+ certification manual and have been studying it, so I think I should be able to fix the computer fairly well on my own. Of course if I can't I can always post here :P I was originally thinking of a sager notebook, but I was told that I would get far more bang for my buck with a remote desktop which appeared to be true. Also, just how much bandwidth do you think I need for a good experience? Thank you for your reply!