Hi,
Please bare with me as I am a computer novice, I have just inherited a Dell computer with windows 98 when I turn on the computer it works fine, it brings up the start screen with all the icons etc however for some reason I cannot connect a keyboard or mouse to the computer. When I plug the mouse into the back of the harddrive in the USB port (its a belkin optical) a screen comes up with wizard detecting it but I cant do anything or click on anything as there is no power to the mouse. Same thing with the keyboard. I have placed the Belkin sofware disk for both the mouse and keyboard in and the computer brings up the download screen for that but same thing I cant do anything on the computer becuase the mouse and keyboard dont work both my mouse and keyboard work I use them on this computer. I have seen the lights flash on the mouse and keyboard momenterily so I don't think its the ports, I have also tried its other USB ports and have tried an adapter that I plug the mouse into and it is a green adapter with a round plug I then plugged that into the round hole and it did'nt work either (sorry Im not shore of the correct name for alot of things.)

Any help and advice would be much appreciated, once again sorry for the technical illiteracy.
Bell:)

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

That green round port is called PS/2 port. If you plug the mouse in it, you need to restart your comp. Same goes for the keyboard (on the PS/2 port).

I suggest you do this:

Plug in your mouse in the PS/2 port.

Install the drivers from the software disk.
You might be prompted to reboot. If so, do it.

Now you can plug in keyboard and mouse to USB ports. They should be recognized and operational. You might need to reboot your PC after the plug'n'play wizard finishes.

...OR....

Get another USB to PS/2 adapter for the keyboard. Might be better this way, for you'll have extra 2 USB ports.

Don't forget to reboot when prompted.