I built the computer that I am currently using last year, it is an asus A8n5x mb w/ amd 3200+ processor and 1 gig of ram.. its a great build, has never given me trouble before..

however, in the past week it has been very dificult to start it up. I usually put it in standby at night, and in the morning I will resume from the standby. Now, when I push the power button to resume from standby, the computer immediately shuts off. I try to turn it back on, it turns on for a few seconds, and then it turns back off...

I'm not really a novice, I've built several computers be4 and I have A+, mcp certifications and such (not like it really means anything).. so I have done some basic troubleshooting, but I cannot seem to solve this problem on my own. The computer starts properly (lights, fans, hd all start up), I tested the power supply w/ a multimeter, reseated all expansion cards, unplugged and replugged almost everything, and still the problem continues. It is the strangest thing I have ever seen... I press the power button, it turns on then immediately off. I work on it a little and still nothing, but then it will eventually boot up and work fine. It works normally until I put it in standby or turn it off, and then the next time I try to turn it on, I encounter the same problem...

Any thoughts/suggestions?? I still think it has to be some kind of a power supply problem since it never even reaches POST. Perhaps I am overusing the power supply? its a 450 watt that came w/ the case, and I have many components... sata hd, cd burner, dvd/cd combo, 3 fans,.. power supply problems are always the most difficult...

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Have you tried using a different PSU?

i have one coming in the mail from newegg.. should arrive soon

Lit us know how it goes.