Hi a newbie here. Acer 2010 with 2 x 512mb, will not start, gets continuous beep during POST and no further. Fan runs for a moment, no screen display, LED light remain on. Tried to swap the two memory slots, tried with one mem card, same problem. Tried both ac power and battery, same results. Could it be both mem cards are faulty, or perhaps p/supply problem in the MOBO. Any suggestions appreciated.
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

PSU prob. would be my first guess. Did you try another?
If needed, clean CPU cooling fins.

hi, it could be that both of your memory card is faulty..

Hi,
Thanks your email. This is a laptop and the power supply is an integral part of the motherboard. I did check the voltage on the memory boards pins and they seemed to be in spec. Cooling fan is also clean.
Thanks anyway.

PSU prob. would be my first guess. Did you try another?
If needed, clean CPU cooling fins.

Hi,
Thanks your reply. I did try both the memory cards on another laptop and both work fine.
Thanks.

hi, it could be that both of your memory card is faulty..

sorry.....but i'm not familiar with Acer laptops.....however, i reccommend that you get the manual and they should have a couple pages on 'Beep Codes'. Each motherboard may be unique in the sound that is used to specify whats wrong. Is your bios updated? If you've check the inside of your laptop (hard-ware as was in the previous posts)....when did you start having this problem and how long u had the laptop?

Hi,
Thanks your email. Regret the manual does not cover POST problems. Bios has not been updated. My problem seem to be memory related, hence I believe the continuous beep. I had this laptop for about two years, out of warranty of course. Problem started about three months ago.