This is my first build and I'm a bit discouraged with the results.

Once everything is hooked up, the power supply is switched on, and the power button on the front panel is pushed, two things happen: the lights on the fans flash on, and the fans budge a little. No sound of a healthy hard drive.

I'd have to assume the motherboard is hooked up correctly (a 24 pin and another 4 pin connection) because an LED labeled "5VSB_LED" comes on once the power supply is switched on.

There's a SATA connection running from the motherboard's SATA0 to the hard drive's power supply.

The switches from the front panel are plugged properly into the motherboard as far as I can tell. I'm not sure if the colored wire or the white wire is ground, but I think it's white, and I've tried both configurations.

The inputs to the front panel are plugged in, the ram is snugly in place, the processor and its fan are plugged in as the instructions indicate. Two other fans draw directly from the power supply. The only other things to speak of are a USB and audio connection on the motherboard, a graphics card in the PCI express slot and a wireless card.

Help me turn my expensive paperweight into a nice computer?

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Is the motherboard toucing the case and shorting out?

YOU ARE AN ANGEL/GENIUS jbennet. Thank you for your quick reply. The computer starts now. Now all I have to do is figure out how to mount it in the case properly.

Turns out a single screw was shorting out the motherboard. Remove the screw, computer comes to life. Thanks again. This has made my day.

New problem - the computer isn't sending any signal to the monitor. I know the graphics card is getting power because the fan on it is running.

Any suggestions?

Now all I have to do is figure out how to mount it in the case properly.

Your case/motherboard should have come with "standoffs" whch are things that the screws go into to prevent the motherboard from touching the case