When i finish my U.G at the rate i am going I don't think i will know anything.I want to know exactly what i should be knowing so that i can proceed with my graduate degree.Which languages are a must know,which data structure concepts i should know,should i be able to make a simple operating system by then?I am in 2nd year and before i know it will be graduating...
I know:
C(well)
C++(well)
learning java(going well)
learning advanced java(but i don't think ill ever be done)
html(little)
CSS(very little)
is it necessary to .Net and what is it?
Is it necessary to know the detailed architecture of a computer?i don't remember much of it.
I also know:
8085 and 8086.
Should i know the general structure of an O.s as well?
I want to learn and have a good base because i like Computer Science,i am just not well guided and confused.
I want to be able to do a good project and do my graduate degree well.
Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Don't get too hung up on which languages you need to learn. It's more about learning problem solving skills, design patterns, data structures and algorithms. I learned Java at university and about 1% of the commercial code I have written has been in Java. Once you know one language, subsequent languages are easily picked up.

.NET is a windows framework that several languages are based on, including C# .NET and Visual Basic (VB) .NET. I had only read a few lines of C# before entering the workforce, now much of the code I write is in C# .NET, but again I must stress that it is not important which language(s) you learn.

As for the detailed architecture of a computer, I think so long as you have a general understanding of how a computer works you will be fine. Unless you wish to work for Intel designing new components, then you might need a more expert depth of knowledge, but for software development a general understanding should suffice. That's not to say that it would hurt to know what's going on under the hood...