I hope I'm posting in the right forum :)

I'm primarily concerned with C compilers and sun's JDK, but general info is more than welcome (Documentation for self-education as well).

Well, if i wrote a program like

int i = 5
printf("i is $d", i);

Would i=5 be stored separately in memory, or would it exactly the same the following?

printf("i is 5");

(perhaps ("i is $d", 5) is more accurate)

If not, one might balance readablity/maintainability against performance (small improvement perhaps, but I'm a sucker for learning these things, if not using them :) )

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Sincerely i didn't understand your code,im new to programming.
Usually, even if not used, the variables are stored in memory.

I hope I'm posting in the right forum :)

I'm primarily concerned with C compilers and sun's JDK, but general info is more than welcome (Documentation for self-education as well).

Well, if i wrote a program like

int i = 5
printf("i is $d", i);

Would i=5 be stored separately in memory, or would it exactly the same the following?

printf("i is 5");

(perhaps ("i is $d", 5) is more accurate)

If not, one might balance readablity/maintainability against performance (small improvement perhaps, but I'm a sucker for learning these things, if not using them :) )

An optimizing compiler would likely choose your final option, assuming there's nothing in the code that would require i to exist as an actual entity. There are a huge number of factors involved when it comes to optimization though, so without a full example it's hard to tell you what the possible outcomes are.

There are a huge number of factors involved when it comes to optimization though, so without a full example it's hard to tell you what the possible outcomes are.

Okay, I'm quite happy just having learned that "optimizing compilers" probably will optimize this.