Hey guys!

I was wondering if anyone could help me. I am a student on my work placement year and I am developing a web based database. I have been asked to design it so users can if need be add a new table to the database or add a new column to an existing table. I have never done this before, how would I go about doing this?? I was thinking that I would have to use some kind of stored procedure and a form the users could fill in? but I have no idea where to start.

I am using Dreamweaver MX and Access, I will be using SQL Server but I am using Access at the minute to create a practice dummy site.

Thanks!
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

GLT

(I have asked this same question in the ASP forum but getting no responses)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Create table

CREATE TABLE table_name
(
column_name1 data_type,
column_name2 data_type,
)

The problem that you facing here is

1. Table is always same so you just run your prepared statement
  2. Tables can be different, you must provide a way/interface through which user can declare table name, column types, you just add the magic words CREATE TABLE and then execute it

Add column

ALTER TABLE table_name 
ADD column_name datatype

Remove column

ALTER TABLE table_name 
DROP COLUMN column_name

Hi thanks for replying!

I do know the SQL for creating and altering tables but I was wondering if anyone had any idea how I would get information from a form or something in dreamweaver to then create the table. The users dont know much about programming or database's so I was hoping to make a simple form or something for them to fill out. Is this possible??

ideas would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!
GLT

Ofcourse it is possible, you just have to tell us which technology you plannig to use. PHP/JSP/ASP/ Ruby on Rails? Also so proper scenario to explain situation would help.

Thank you,