Hello all,

I work for a S/w MNC as an system eng support but I wanted to move into database. I am new to databse. can anyone suggest me how to start with this. It's a new field for me but I want to make my career in this. Do i need to go for any certification initially? or learn by my own?, please sugget.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

You need to learn for basics first instead of going for certifications. Certifications will definately add some weitage but that is not compulsary.

Yeah, that is correct but how shall I go about it, that is my question friend? What are the basic courses i can go for or basics I need to do? is it a rite desicion to leave my previous exp and get into this?

You need to decide which database you want to work on .Because there are several databases in market . After that you can start learning the database from scratch.

You need to decide which database you want to work on .Because there are several databases in market . After that you can start learning the database from scratch.

Hello Debasisdas,

I have some IT background (studied COBOL/C/C++/ORACLE) but no working experience.After a break of couple years now I am planning to start IT career. I think I have 2 options 1) Programming field 2) Database field
Regarding my interest ,I think I am open to both of them.

After my research, I have decided to go for database career as it seems stable and easy compare to programming career.

My quesion is database career is so vast, how should I know where to start ? People have suggetsted me to go for DBA, some says Data warehousing, some suggested Terradata, SQL Server 2005.......I am really confused. Don't know where to start ? Also I get more confused bcoz when people suggest you and you dont know what it is ? For eg some says SQL SERVER 2005. I dont know what technology it is ?

Would really appretiate your help.

Thanks, Krishna

Also I am located in US.

SQL SERVER 2005 is a database from Microsoft.