Hi there,

I have a master detail set of tables with a one-to-many relationship. Let's call the tables Projects (master) and Markets (details).

I need to allow users to query the database and be able to select projects by markets. In other words, users should be able to "say": "List all projects where Market is Architecture and Construction"

The query is to be created dynamically (this is not the problem here) and there are lots of projects and lots of markets.

Can anyone guide me on how to create the query (conceptually).

Below is a simplified version of the two tables. Now, I would like to query: "list all projects that is offices and hospitality"; with this sample data I should get project 001 only

Projects:
----------
PrjId PrjName... etc
001 myProject

Markets:
---------
PrjId MrktId Mrkt1 Mrkt2 Mrkt3 ... etc
001 001 offices single-family NULL
001 002 hospitality NULL NULL
001 003 retail NULL Something
002 004 offices NULL NULL
003 005 hospitality NULL NULL

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

hi

If you were able to redesign table Markets like that:

(PrjID, MarkedID, Market), where at least all three attributes be part of markets' primary key, the query you are looking for and generating where clause at runtime would really be simple:

select distinct p.PrjID, PrjName from projects p inner join Markets m
where Market IN ('architecture', 'offices', 'hospitality', ... )

(This select requires that all primary and foreign keys are properly defined. If not, you must extend join Markets m by ON p.PrjID = m.PrjID)

With new table Markets

PrjID MrktId Market
001 001 offices
001 001 single-family
001 002 hospitality
001 003 retail
001 003 Something
002 004 offices
003 005 hospitality

and Projects the result set would be

PrjID PrjName
001 myProject

Unfortunately, current table Market is rather poorly designed. Because of the repeating group Mrkt1, Mrkt2 etc it even violates first normal form. I am afraid, it isn't in your power to simply redesign Markets.